my cyberspace activities (I do hope it’s still a correct term, if not then this will be “whatever stuff I have scattered online”…)

As I am on my 2nd night of self-imposed quarantine since this varicella-zoster-virus reactivated, I now turn my attention to my cyber activities. There has to be some order and semblance of a theme here I think. I maintain online accounts for photos (Flickr, which haven’t been updated for the past 2 years sadly), stuff that I just feel like writing about (this so-called blog which I’m pretty sure is read only by a handful of people), the expected social network (Facebook. Friendster is still there but dormant), books I own (Shelfari, for the reason I want to keep track of them as they are divided between Muscat and Davao), Jango (where I stream fine-tuned music directly like a radio). Those are the major ones and I cannot recall now if I’m leaving something out, probably some trivial site or another anyway (though this is precisely what I want to avoid, and that is why unused accounts should be deleted)…

My point: trim, clean up, focus.

I’ve started connecting the ones I use more often and which internally allow them. Facebook friends should be grouped, although almost all friends I have I really know personally, there seem to be new features now that edit your circle and appoint who receives what from you and you from them. How to do that, I have to fiddle some more. How can I also connect Flickr photos to Fb, import Friendster photos automatically to Fb, or to just let Fb stitch everything up nice and tidy in one page..

This Schmookler blog has to refined. I remember starting writing these weblogs in Friendster soon after my father died. I guess at that time, I really really just want to vent my thoughts and write my sadness to the anonymous. I shifted blogging in wordpress when I started instructing at UP Mindanao, must be the influence of the English, Literature co-teachers I shared faculty offices with. And continued with it even after I left academe and started chronicling my travels as an OFW in the Middle East. Not only was this about teaching, changings and travels, a lot of silly, random thoughts were there and musings on the places and people I’ve seen.
Time has passed and now what will this blog be and does it even have to be a one-theme blog? Like a foodie, techie or travel blog? That might not be sustainable for me. Even if I fancy this to be a sumptuous food review/cooking/recipe site, I do not cook extensively at all and eating out often about town will tear my wallet! Writing about travels might not be much, as I only move around about twice a year. Techie stuff, well I can only blog so much about laptops and mobile phones… But then again, these ARE stuff I do (besides work of course) and use and can continue to put my 200 baizas in, whether people actually read them or not. It would be cool to have blogs read of course but my reason is more of myself chronicling than you following. Which is entirely fine by me 🙂
And so I will carry on with my ramblings, and will try to be more regular and thoughtful on things I write. Oman is a beautiful country around me and in a month or two, the weather will turn fantastic. I should not get too bored.
So first off, will come up with a new description for this site. Will have to sleep on it for now though…

Night!

4 thoughts on “my cyberspace activities (I do hope it’s still a correct term, if not then this will be “whatever stuff I have scattered online”…)

  1. yeah Pon, to or not to? In the end I guess we should just write what we feel like! I have you on my blogroll, if you’re changing let me know so I can update it ha? : )

  2. Cyberspace activities.. Do not forget your mobile activities. Tango, live profile. Hehehe. Cant wait to see your new description.

Leave a comment