challenges of the day

01. wash clothes

Mundane tasks should not be a big deal.  But this is the first time I’m going to use the washing machine in the basement of this old house.  I still got images of dank, dark basements from all sorts of movies, with the furnaces looking menacing and such.  And all the bad things happening right when you’re going down the narrow steps… However, aside from the fact that the machine didn’t have a dryer, the basement wasn’t so bad.  But one thing I will try not to do is use the bathroom where the washer is.  It still feels odd  and smells stale 😀 After almost an hour of wash, even if I hang my wet clothes out to dry, there is no sun! So just left them hanging in our cavernous but badly-designed bathroom.  At this point, I really don’t care if my new housemates see it. Let them tell me how to dry clothes here and I’ll happily oblige.

02. prep/cook a meal

I did manage to mix several veggies yesterday and this is the result…Greens+tomatoes+pre-shredded carrots and just topped them off with olives & feta cheese from a jar..

Image

And of course my meal will never be complete without desserts!   This oh-so good chocolate eclair came from a goodies shop, just right across the house.  So I have a feeling I’ll drop by there everyday right after school..

However, all these were prepared by someone else and the true test came when I made dinner tonight.  After figuring out the electric cooktop, it was just a matter of taking the stuff I bought (and carefully transported via bike!) yesterday and throwing something together!  Result is pasta with pesto/rucola paste with mushrooms and topped with PORK bacon.  Didn’t care much for the rucola, found it slightly bitter, but my goodness it has been ages since I had pork! And this one was just heavenly, even cooked by me! 😛  I can imagine it with steamed rice, fresh tomato and scrambled eggs too.. *laway*

So I don’t know what else to make after this actually, so let me surprise myself as well 😉

Leave a comment